Benefits of digital VS analog

A forum for the discussion of APCO-2, DMR, NXDN, and any other type of digital radio systems in our monitoring area.
NHdave

Benefits of digital VS analog

#1 Post by NHdave » 30 Jul 2014 19:46

I've been scanning for almost 35 years but I'm a layperson when it comes to radio systems and their function. All I have in range is conventional analog and digital, never had to deal with trunking or anything out of the ordinary. I thought digital was supposed to improve reliability and range yet I constantly hear dispatch telling officers to repeat because they went "digital" (I assume they mean garbled) during their transmission. Also Exeter NH went back to analog after having issues with their digital system a few years back and are still there. Is it one of those things that was better on paper?

If it's that much better why haven't fire and EMS switched over when the police in the same towns have?

MaineRadioMan

#2 Post by MaineRadioMan » 30 Jul 2014 20:13

Im the same as you DaVE. I like the term you used LayPerson..
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT

jmarcel66

#3 Post by jmarcel66 » 30 Jul 2014 20:52

Fire hasn't switched over mainly because most departments still utilize "two-tone" paging to alert members and stations. FD's extensively use minitor style pagers and currently, they are not digital capable. So at the minimum they need analog to dispatch. In addition, it is recommended that Fireground operations operate in analog due to how digital translates noise, especially background noise. After that, plain ole'reliability.