County Comms NXDN (System 90)

A forum for the discussion of APCO-2, DMR, NXDN, and any other type of digital radio systems in our monitoring area.
n1zyy

County Comms NXDN (System 90)

#1 Post by n1zyy » 03 Dec 2018 14:39

http://www.scan-ne.net/wiki/index.php?t ... unications

I just purchased the NXDN upgrade for my 536HP and have been tinkering around with it. I'm new to NXDN but have read a little bit in the past.

I found WPNZ335 for the one Goffstown frequency on our wiki, which revealed a total of five frequencies. I programmed them up and LCN Finder showed me 453.5625 as "LCN" 606. It hasn't found anything on the other 4. We also show 453.5625 / 606 as being in Georgetown, and I see it licensed there too (WNIB395).

The "System Status" view of the Goffstown system shows system ID of 5Ah (which would be 90 decimal, as we have), and a site ID of 3, plus a RAN of 3. The site ID matches what we have for Goffstown, but the RAN does not. (Though on the other 2 sites, RAN seems to match site ID.)

My understanding is that the "LCN" is actually a coded version of the frequency, which makes me wonder -- if I only have the LCN of the control channel, should the scanner be able to figure out the rest like it can for a SmartZone system?

n1zyy

Re: County Comms NXDN (System 90)

#2 Post by n1zyy » 03 Dec 2018 15:08

Huh, the "System Status" tool on my scanner shows me how many frequencies it knows about. Goffstown and Framingham both show 1 frequency only, while Georgetown shows 6. It seems to instantly come up with this regardless of whether I have all frequencies programmed (I have 3 with LCNs for Framingham, and 5 but only one LCN for Uncanoonuc), so I suspect the controller broadcasts a list of all frequencies (or their LCNs) and their status, which is what the System Status page shows.

I have no idea how my scanner is receiving Georgetown fine but also seeing 453.5625 as Goffstown; I haven't programmed any RAN filters or anything.

n1zyy