Puzzled in Little Compton

Scanning information and discussion for the state of Rhode Island.
HannaMary

Puzzled in Little Compton

#1 Post by HannaMary » 01 Feb 2016 10:46

I live in Little Compton and I'm relatively new to the digital scanner world. Years ago, I had an analog scanner and listened to local police and fire dispatch with no problem. As their communication system changed (over to RISCON, I guess) I didn't know enough about what was going on to pursue it, so I wasn't monitoring for several years. Seven months ago I decided to learn about digital scanners and I purchased a Uniden HomePatrol-1. I initially set it up for just the Little Compton Police and Fire and I seemed to be hearing most of the activity...not that there is a lot here beyond police stops, false fire alarms and a few EMS, but there was usually some kind of activity several times a day including a twice daily radio check. Over time, I noticed that the number of communications I was picking up was declining and more recently I sometimes receive only the dispatcher's side of the communication and not the field calls coming in or their responses to the dispatcher...also sometimes missing the daily radio checks. I've tested the scanner by broadening the reception area...with the following results...Block Island comes in loud and clear, Middletown is strong, Tiverton is a poor, static signal, and Little Compton continues to be unusually quiet.

I'm wondering if I'm missing something in how I'm programming the scanner. I use the Sentinel software for the database, I've researched and re-read the manual and I've reset the scanner several times. In addition to being on the RISCON, do some towns use a back-channel encryption system? Is there a reason Tiverton is such a poor signal? And finally, is there an alternate way for me to manually enter frequencies or talk groups...would that make any difference?

Thanks for any assistance or advice
HannaMary

pete
SNE and Wiki Moderator