Help with Pro 2055 trunking programming

Scanning information and discussion for the state of Rhode Island.
Post Reply
Message
Author
W1AV
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Feb 2018 12:10
Location: Cranston, RI

Help with Pro 2055 trunking programming

#1 Post by W1AV » 23 Feb 2018 22:11

Hello, I just got a Pro 2055 in the mail today from ebay. It replaces an older radio. I have been readingthe manual pretty closely and managed how to wipe clean all banks and program about 30 local police/fire/rescue etc into bank 1. And I figured out the alpha numeric display part. But trunking is still confusing. The radio will hear Motorola type 1 & 2, EDACS, LTR......I dont understand how to get the information the scanner is asking for. I live in Cranston Rhode Island in a pretty decent receive location. According to the book you have to press "function" to choose the desired system you want to scan. I have no clue which one to use! It asks for the "desired trunking frequency"......Looks like you need to program ALL freqs in a system? The state prison is on some kind of frequency hopping 800mhz system. I can hear them with rubber duck from my house. They use about 8 or 10 freqs. I am assuming they are trunking so maybe I can start with that group. Is there some type of chart or data online to narrow all this down to be simpler? Then they mention "fleet maps"........
Bob
Cranston, RI

JohnBolduc
Posts: 80
Joined: 17 Jan 2015 17:26
Location: Londonderry, NH

#2 Post by JohnBolduc » 24 Feb 2018 03:32

I use software to program my 2055. The product I am using is PSREdit300. I don't remember what I paid for the software, maybe $20. The cable to program perhaps $25, if you can find the right one.

I know I have program trunked systems manually in the past, but it has been a great while. I think one of the quirky things is you have to program from the first channel in the bank. You could however but unrelated conventional channel in the same bank, but had to leave a blank channel in between the trunked and conventional channels. You can also do multiple trunk systems of the same type in the same bank. You just need to leave a blank channel (freq 000.0000) between each system / site.

I do think there is a control channel only option, so you do not have to program all the channels in. I do not remember having to fuss with fleet maps at all. If the trunked system is a "rebanded system", you may be out of luck as the firmware probably can not handle it.

I know when push come to shove I would program the channels in as conventional channels. If doesn't track but you can always push the scan button after each transmission until your fingers turn blue.
John
Londonderry, NH

W1AV
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Feb 2018 12:10
Location: Cranston, RI

re: 2055 help

#3 Post by W1AV » 24 Feb 2018 08:59

JohnBolduc wrote:I use software to program my 2055. The product I am using is PSREdit300. I don't remember what I paid for the software, maybe $20. The cable to program perhaps $25, if you can find the right one.

I know I have program trunked systems manually in the past, but it has been a great while. I think one of the quirky things is you have to program from the first channel in the bank. You could however but unrelated conventional channel in the same bank, but had to leave a blank channel in between the trunked and conventional channels. You can also do multiple trunk systems of the same type in the same bank. You just need to leave a blank channel (freq 000.0000) between each system / site.

I do think there is a control channel only option, so you do not have to program all the channels in. I do not remember having to fuss with fleet maps at all. If the trunked system is a "rebanded system", you may be out of luck as the firmware probably can not handle it.

I know when push come to shove I would program the channels in as conventional channels. If doesn't track but you can always push the scan button after each transmission until your fingers turn blue.
Hi John, the way I have it set up now is in BANK 1 there are regular analog freqs for the local police, fire, rescue etc. In BANK 2 are the 10 800mhz frequencies for the State Prison. The State Prison is trunked. I followed directions to first choose the SYSTEM (LTR) then manually programmed each of the 10 frequencies in the first 10 channels. And last, BANK 3 has 4 RI Dept. of Transportation freqs....800mhs using Motorola type 1 system. Since the scanner has 1000 channels, it allows me to dedicated separate banks to separate agencies that are trunked. So I dont have to worry about mixing both 800mhz trunking abd standard analog freqs together in the same bank. It is much simpler this way. Plus I will never use 1000 channels! So far everything is working ok. But the display doesnt indicated anything about trunking when radio is scanning or stopped on a trunk freq. I am sure there are more trunking agencies but I havent found them yet. With exception of some businesses, but that doesnt sound too interesting.
Bob
Cranston, RI

User avatar
W1KNE
Owner-Webmaster
Posts: 4001
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

#4 Post by W1KNE » 24 Feb 2018 11:17

If you haven't put any TGs in the systems, you need to set the system to "open" , so it scans and decodes everything versus closed.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer - RF Enthusiast
Owner: Scan New England - NECRAT.US
Issues with Scan New England can be privately addressed to me. W1KNE at scan-ne.com.

W1AV
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Feb 2018 12:10
Location: Cranston, RI

#5 Post by W1AV » 24 Feb 2018 16:33

W1KNE wrote:If you haven't put any TGs in the systems, you need to set the system to "open" , so it scans and decodes everything versus closed.
I did check for open system and it is set for open. I found that the Dept of Transportation uses Motorola 2 system and put in about 5 talk groups. No errors but have not heard anything yet. Probably bacause it is a weekend and the state workers are not out.
Bob
Cranston, RI

User avatar
W1KNE
Owner-Webmaster
Posts: 4001
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

#6 Post by W1KNE » 24 Feb 2018 17:08

DOT *may* be on RISCON , encrypted. I believe there was discussion about this some time back.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer - RF Enthusiast
Owner: Scan New England - NECRAT.US
Issues with Scan New England can be privately addressed to me. W1KNE at scan-ne.com.

Tim
Posts: 259
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 18:05
Location: Fall River,MA
Contact:

Re: Help with Pro 2055 trunking programming

#7 Post by Tim » 28 Feb 2018 22:36

Mike,
I believe that system was taken down and the frequencies were used in the RISCON. I ran through the control channels and found no burst. :Bruins:
BCD996P2, PSR-600, Pro-2006, TRX-1, Par Mon-3 antenna - home, Gemtronics 800 mhz antenna - handheld, David Clark headset, :Bruins:

Tim
Posts: 259
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 18:05
Location: Fall River,MA
Contact:

Re: Help with Pro 2055 trunking programming

#8 Post by Tim » 04 Mar 2018 12:32

Bob,
Reading post #3 that is not how you setup a LTR trunking system. The system just needs one channel and all 10 frequencies then are entered into the system. Much easier to understand programming a trunk system with the Win97 software. :pint:
BCD996P2, PSR-600, Pro-2006, TRX-1, Par Mon-3 antenna - home, Gemtronics 800 mhz antenna - handheld, David Clark headset, :Bruins:

User avatar
trp
Posts: 414
Joined: 30 Mar 2010 19:44

Re: 2055 Help

#9 Post by trp » 04 Mar 2018 17:32

JohnBolduc wrote:
24 Feb 2018 03:32
...The cable to program perhaps $25, if you can find the right one...
This $22.95 programming cable (with FREE shipping included) will work with the PRO-2055 and with many other scanner models as listed in the product's details (see copy-and-paste below): https://www.ebay.com/itm/Radio-Shack-Sc ... 1446649833

"This listing is for a single Radio Shack’s 20-546 USB Programming cable with the 3.5mm 1/8" Stereo connector for these scanners:

Radio Shack PRO-106 PRO-135 PRO-136 PRO-137 PRO-163 PRO-164 PRO-197 PRO-2017 PRO-2018 PRO-2054 PRO-2055 PRO-404 PRO-405 PRO-426 PRO-427 PRO-428 PRO-444 PRO-496 PRO-501 PRO-515 PRO-522 PRO-523 PRO-524 PRO-525 PRO-526 PRO-527 PRO-533 PRO-649 PRO-650 PRO-651 PRO-652

GRE PSR-100 PSR-200 PSR-300 PSR-300C PSR-310 PSR-340 PSR-400 PSR-400C PSR-410 PSR-500 PSR-600

Whistler WS1010 WS1040 WS1065

MFJ 8322


These scanners need the 3.5mm 1/8" Mono Adapter included:

Radio Shack PRO-160 PRO-162 PRO-2051 PRO-2053 PRO-2067 PRO-2096 PRO-433 PRO-528 PRO-79 PRO-82 PRO-83 PRO-84 PRO-89 PRO-93 PRO-94 PRO-95 PRO-96 PRO-99

Uniden BC245XLT BC345XLT
"
Last edited by W1KNE on 04 Mar 2018 20:31, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added back the subject line that disappeared in the thread.
trp

Post Reply