Help

This forum is for the discussion of the signals monitored on 1090 MHz that allow for the plotting of civilian and military aircraft using PlanePlotter and other software.
Post Reply
Message
Author
OnMontauk

Help

#1 Post by OnMontauk » 22 May 2013 11:56

I Bought the RTL2832U dongle & Have PP installed. Cant seem to get it to work. Can anyone help

cacti21

#2 Post by cacti21 » 22 May 2013 15:06

KD2CJW wrote:I Bought the RTL2832U dongle & Have PP installed. Cant seem to get it to work. Can anyone help
Steven, I don't know anything about the dongle, however, there's a nice video here that might be of use to you http://www.nicstorey.co.uk/planeplotter ... %20RTL1090 give it a try and see if it helps you.

User avatar
N1BHH (Silent Key)
Posts: 3270
Joined: 04 Sep 2005 13:22
Location: Jackson Square, East Weymouth
Contact:

#3 Post by N1BHH (Silent Key) » 22 May 2013 18:16

Somewhere on the site Scott did a write up on using the dongle for monitoring MotoTrbo, but I thought someone else wrote something up in this thread:
http://www.scan-ne.net/forums/showthrea ... ega-Thread

Hope that helps. It takes a little bit of searching and then playing with the settings. I haven't gotten one yet because my secondary machine is on life support until I can afford something newer to replace my main machine, then this machine will be ready, then I'll have a go at it. Welcome aboard and have fun.
CLYDE - N1BHH - A KNOW-CODE AMATEUR RADIO OPERATOR / WQWJ272 - GMRS
Pro94 Pro106 Pro164 Pro197 Pro2006 Pro2015 Pro2021 Pro2055
Yaesu's FT60R, FT2900R & FT8800R, Icom IC735, Motorola MTX9250 (900 MHz.)

User avatar
jwb8734
Posts: 1482
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 17:29
Location: Northbridge, MA
Contact:

#4 Post by jwb8734 » 22 May 2013 18:43

It is sort of a pain to install.
I still have a hard time getting mine to work.

codfish
Posts: 220
Joined: 02 Jun 2008 23:44
Location: Brockton, MA

#5 Post by codfish » 24 May 2013 11:10

I'm using the dongle with ADSBsharp+ADSBscope software. Setup wad easy and it works great. If you can't get PP to work you might want to give them a try. They're free.

OnMontauk

#6 Post by OnMontauk » 30 May 2013 10:57

I don't know what Im doing wrong, but I am unable to download any software for the RTL1090 & the Zadig drivers. Why cant they make this easier?

User avatar
Matt SNE Moderator
Posts: 785
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Haverhill, MA
Contact:

#7 Post by Matt SNE Moderator » 30 May 2013 12:48

Instructions on installing SDR# and the drivers are here: http://rtlsdr.org/softwarewindows
Download shortcut which has all software/drivers needed to get started: http://sdrsharp.com/downloads/sdr-install.zip

Once you have the zadig drivers installed, you can use SDR# or any other software including RTL1090.
Matt [Moderator/Admin] - Haverhill, MA
Image

Post Reply