Cape DMR and NXDN

Discussion forum for scanning Cape Cod & the Islands, including Barnstable, Dukes, and Nantucket counties.
Post Reply
Message
Author
n1riw
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Sep 2005 11:00

Cape DMR and NXDN

#1 Post by n1riw » 09 Jul 2018 13:53

Apologies if this is the wrong forum...I have just received my SDS100. I have purchased the DMR and NXDN upgrades. I have programed via Sentinel in the RDC 178 NXDN Yarmouth tower and have not received anything. Trying to run the Yarmouth stuff but also sat on the VHF16 simulcast with negative results. Does RR have the channel order wrong?
Signal strength is fine here, LCN finder is not finding anything.

I have also been trying to run DMR stuff that worked on the 436 I had-Eversource, CCRTA with negative results

Scanner Master confirmed the updates are in the radio.

Thank you for any assistance

Tim/N1RIW

User avatar
jeffkett
Posts: 450
Joined: 30 Aug 2005 21:56
Location: Sandwich

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#2 Post by jeffkett » 11 Jul 2018 22:51

Tim, I may be way off on this one as I am still tinkering with this DMR NXDN stuff.
I use the TRX-1 . For the So. Yarmouth info I have it as NXDN 4800. The LCN in their
program show as follow.....LCN 1 452.2125 LCN 2 452.650 LCN 3 461.200
LCN 4 461.4625 LCN 5 461.7625 LCN 6 451.7875

Jeff

User avatar
garys
Posts: 3142
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#3 Post by garys » 12 Jul 2018 15:47

I checked in both ARC536 and Sentinel and the Channel Numbering and RAN appear correct. As well as the frequencies, of course. I don't have a SDS100, so I can't help you other than that. I'd check the settings to make sure all is right. If it's anything like the x36Hp scanners, it take a bit of time and effort to get them set up.

Oh, if the SDS uses Service Types, check to make sure that the ones used are enabled on the scanner. I've made that mistake before with the x36HP. If the Service Types are not turned on, it will act just as you describe.

Also check that the Systems are enabled, as well as everything else.

Gary

n1riw
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Sep 2005 11:00

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#4 Post by n1riw » 24 Jul 2018 09:42

So I determined 451 7875 was not in RR entry...added this both as 1st in and as 6th lcn...still not hearing anything...services are listed in RR...any other ideas?

LCN finder is still not finding anything either

User avatar
garys
Posts: 3142
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#5 Post by garys » 25 Jul 2018 12:22

This is the correct frequency and channel numbering for South Yarmouth,

0451.787500 144 RAN=1
0452.212500 178 RAN=1
0452.650000 213 RAN=1
0461.200000 497 RAN=1
0461.462500 518 RAN=1
0461.762500 542 RAN=1

451.7875 is the control channel. LCN is the commonly used, but incorrect terminology. "Channel Number" is the correct term for NXDN systems. I know that both Uniden and RR use it, but it's incorrect.

Program your scanner as above and see if it works.

n1riw wrote:
24 Jul 2018 09:42
So I determined 451 7875 was not in RR entry...added this both as 1st in and as 6th lcn...still not hearing anything...services are listed in RR...any other ideas?

LCN finder is still not finding anything either

n1riw
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Sep 2005 11:00

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#6 Post by n1riw » 26 Jul 2018 13:55

Thank you for reply...have this setup running in ID search mode and hearing nothing

Starting to wonder if the upgrade didn't work,,

I finally got CCH trbo to run but nothing on Eversource or CCRTA

Appreciate continued assistance

User avatar
garys
Posts: 3142
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#7 Post by garys » 26 Jul 2018 14:24

You might want to go into settings and make sure that the upgrade keys were entered properly. I think I've mentioned that I can't receive the South Yarmouth site, but I receive a number of the other sites with no issues. That's on my x36HP scanners and using DSD+ on a laptop.


n1riw wrote:
26 Jul 2018 13:55
Thank you for reply...have this setup running in ID search mode and hearing nothing

Starting to wonder if the upgrade didn't work,,

I finally got CCH trbo to run but nothing on Eversource or CCRTA

Appreciate continued assistance

n1riw
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Sep 2005 11:00

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#8 Post by n1riw » 26 Jul 2018 14:38

Scannermaster had me check and the radio says NXDN upgrade is installed...they suggested programming channels conventionally...still not hearing anything
Tc

User avatar
garys
Posts: 3142
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#9 Post by garys » 26 Jul 2018 14:50

This might be a dumb question, but are you on the Cape? You might want to try programming some of the other sites in and see if that helps. Since it's a networked system, you'll hear traffic on multiple sites if the scanner is hearing them.

If you PM me with your email address, I'll send you the file I have for my x36HP scanners. It's a FL that has both the RDC and Radio Phone systems. It should be compatible with the SDS scanner.


n1riw wrote:
26 Jul 2018 14:38
Scannermaster had me check and the radio says NXDN upgrade is installed...they suggested programming channels conventionally...still not hearing anything
Tc

n1riw
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Sep 2005 11:00

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#10 Post by n1riw » 26 Jul 2018 15:09

I'm in ptown...getting 3 bars on yarmouth...Mashpee weak here...boat traffic there should be easy to decode

Also sitting on CCRTA trbo Orleans site and not hearing them...did hear CCH trbo once...Eversource is also not coming in

mailto:n1riw@comcast.net

Dumb question but how do I work this file...do I import I to Sentinel?

Tim

User avatar
garys
Posts: 3142
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#11 Post by garys » 26 Jul 2018 18:11

That's a good question. I use ARC536 for editing files and only use Sentinel for firmware updates for the most part. You might want to ask the question on RR.

If you're in Ptown, you might want to try the Plymouth or Boston sites as well. Straight shot across the water, so you might get more from them.

I'll get the file out to you in a bit.
n1riw wrote:
26 Jul 2018 15:09
I'm in ptown...getting 3 bars on yarmouth...Mashpee weak here...boat traffic there should be easy to decode

Also sitting on CCRTA trbo Orleans site and not hearing them...did hear CCH trbo once...Eversource is also not coming in

mailto:n1riw@comcast.net

Dumb question but how do I work this file...do I import I to Sentinel?

Tim

User avatar
jeffkett
Posts: 450
Joined: 30 Aug 2005 21:56
Location: Sandwich

Re: Cape DMR and NXDN

#12 Post by jeffkett » 31 Jul 2018 21:40

Tim, still playing with these TRBO/DMR sites. I went to FCC site under WPOY224 and reprogrammed my TRX-1 by site
Yarmouth 451.7875 452.2125 452.6500 461.4625 461.7625 (skeptical on the 461.200 as it is licensed to Mayflower Place)

Sandwich 451.8625 452.8500 461.4125 461.6875 461.9375

Mashpee 451.9500 452.3875 452.7375 461.4375 461.7375

Brewster 451.5500 451.9125 452.3375 452.7500 461.250

Not sure if this will do anything at all...but will run scanner for a couple of days and see whats happens ????

Jeff

Post Reply