Looking for advice on a new scanner

Scanners, antennas, coax, filters, amplifiers, demodulators...you get the idea. Scanning equipment questions, answers, and discussion belongs here!

413scan

Looking for advice on a new scanner

Post by 413scan »

Good afternoon everyone,

I have been scanning local UHF public safety off and on for 15 years now, but being stuck at home I have been scanning a lot more and realizing the limitations of my old BC95XLT. I'd like to get a new scanner soon, and have been reading quite a bit about the systems in use in MA, and could use a little help picking out my new scanner.

I am in the eastern Hampshire County (Amherst) area and would like a scanner that can pick up MSP trunked communications, even though I still have 800 MHz analog broadcasts within range I would like something that is future-proof and can pick up CoMIRS as I roam throughout the state. I'm still a more casual user and would prefer not to spend $600-700 on a SDS200, does anyone have any suggestions for a more inexpensive scanner that would meet these criteria? If anyone has a used unit available I would be very interested in that as well.

Some other things I'm considering as I shop:
-Handheld preferred, but open to a versatile base/mobile
-Don't mind programming at all, don't need the fancy features that auto-program frequencies in by ZIP
-Would like to be able to pick up MILCOM transmissions in the 200-300 MHz range from Westover & Barnes
-Would prefer a digital display that displays in text what channel I'm picking up
-Computer connectivity for programming & logging activity received preferred

Thanks so much for your help. This website is a great resource.

-Steve

W1KNE
Owner-Webmaster

Re: Looking for advice on a new scanner

Post by W1KNE »

If you want a handheld, that would work well in your area, and you could travel with, I'd look seriously at a Uniden 325P2, which is the portable version of the 996P2.