USB-1 Programming Cable

Scanners, antennas, coax, filters, amplifiers, demodulators...you get the idea. Scanning equipment questions, answers, and discussion belongs here!

Post Reply
User avatar
Mark SNE Moderator
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3497
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by Mark SNE Moderator »

Need some help,

I recently tried to purchase the USB-1 programming cable that works with my BCD436HP and on two occasions I got the wrong cable. One was via eBay and the other from Ham Radio Outlet. These were described as programming cables. Both times I was sent a cable that is used for GPS and NOT programming. I was able to recoup my money each time thankfully. Scannermaster shows it as out of stock. Can anyone show me a link to another method to purchase this? I'm skeptical now about ordering the incorrect cable. Thanks for any help.
Mark,

Scan New England Moderator

garys
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3657
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by garys »

You don't need the USB-1 for the x36HP scanners. A regular mini USB cable with a mini USB connector will work fine. The other port is for GPS input, which is why they are sending you a GPS cable.
We're peace loving people, we're not hunting trouble, but if trouble should find us, we'll stand up and fight.

User avatar
Mark SNE Moderator
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3497
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by Mark SNE Moderator »

So can you send me a link to what I need? As I said, Scannermaster is out of stock.
Mark,

Scan New England Moderator

garys
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3657
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by garys »

We're peace loving people, we're not hunting trouble, but if trouble should find us, we'll stand up and fight.

User avatar
Mark SNE Moderator
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3497
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by Mark SNE Moderator »

Gary,

Will this work for programming my 436HP? Just want to verify before buying. That price is very cheap. Most cables are in the $22-$28 range.
Mark,

Scan New England Moderator

garys
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3657
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by garys »

Yes, it will work. The older Uniden scanners need a computer with a serial port to connect to. The USB-1 cable replicates a serial port, which is why it costs so much. The x36HP and SDS scanners don't need a serial port and connect directly to a USB cable. The x36HP scanners ship with a standard USB to Mini USB cable. That's just like the cable I linked to. It will work fine.
Mark SNE Moderator wrote:
08 Jul 2019 13:16
Gary,

Will this work for programming my 436HP? Just want to verify before buying. That price is very cheap. Most cables are in the $22-$28 range.
We're peace loving people, we're not hunting trouble, but if trouble should find us, we'll stand up and fight.

User avatar
Mark SNE Moderator
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3497
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by Mark SNE Moderator »

I'll take your word on this, thanks. Much cheaper than the standard USB cable.
Mark,

Scan New England Moderator

cdgordon
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 1220
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 15:46
Location: Granby, CT

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by cdgordon »

If you have a box of non scanner cables around, you may find you already have one. My Garmin GPS units all use them, I have a small MP3 player that uses it. I think there are others around my house too.

chris

User avatar
Mark SNE Moderator
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3497
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: USB-1 Programming Cable

Post by Mark SNE Moderator »

So I ordered the one from Amazon but triple checked my stash of various cables in the toolbox. I swear I checked them all but I found one that looked like it might work. Lo and behold, it did! Well, I now will have an extra, and the Amazon one was only $11, so a win win! Thanks everyone for your help.

cdgordon wrote:
08 Jul 2019 17:57
If you have a box of non scanner cables around, you may find you already have one. My Garmin GPS units all use them, I have a small MP3 player that uses it. I think there are others around my house too.

chris
Mark,

Scan New England Moderator

Post Reply