NAC programming

Share your scanner programming files here! See the "sticky" post (top thread) in the forum for information how to post.
Post Reply
joekehoe
Posts: 65
Joined: 31 Aug 2005 09:56
Location: Plymouth

NAC programming

Post by joekehoe »

I have a BCD536. When I program a P25 frequency in it as well as the NAC. For example, I program Marshfield PD with a NAC of 270. It shows up on the 536 as NAC 270h which is incorrect. How do I delete the “h”. It shows up as h all NAC frequencies.

deacon
Posts: 392
Joined: 26 Feb 2006 10:33
Location: North Mashpee

Re: NAC programming

Post by deacon »

Scroll too the "H" using the cursor, either 4 or 6. Then, using the "push/func" knob scholl to the symbols. At the end of the symbols and prior to the capital letters is a "blank" space. At the "blank" space hit enter and you are done.

Good luck,
Chuck

garys
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3657
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: NAC programming

Post by garys »

The "h" indicates that the NAC is in hex format. It's not removable because the scanner adds it into the display.
We're peace loving people, we're not hunting trouble, but if trouble should find us, we'll stand up and fight.

joekehoe
Posts: 65
Joined: 31 Aug 2005 09:56
Location: Plymouth

Re: NAC programming

Post by joekehoe »

Will that affect the reception on the p25 frequency?

garys
SNE and Wiki Moderator
Posts: 3657
Joined: 29 Aug 2005 13:07

Re: NAC programming

Post by garys »

No.
We're peace loving people, we're not hunting trouble, but if trouble should find us, we'll stand up and fight.

User avatar
W1KNE
Owner-Webmaster
Posts: 4363
Joined: 19 Aug 2005 12:00
Location: Taunton, MA
Contact:

Re: NAC programming

Post by W1KNE »

To reiterate what Gary just said, the "h" is nothing more than a display character. Just like the MHz at the end of the frequency, it's only used to indicate the NAC format is in hex.
It's not actually in the 3 digit NAC on the scanner, just on the front display.
Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer - RF Enthusiast
Owner: Scan New England - NECRAT.US
Issues with Scan New England can be privately addressed to me. W1KNE at scan-ne.com.

joekehoe
Posts: 65
Joined: 31 Aug 2005 09:56
Location: Plymouth

Re: NAC programming

Post by joekehoe »

Thank you for the responses.

deacon
Posts: 392
Joined: 26 Feb 2006 10:33
Location: North Mashpee

Re: NAC programming

Post by deacon »

Sorry for providing the incorrect information, I never had that issue.
Chuck

User avatar
ecps92
Wiki Administrator
Posts: 5121
Joined: 07 Dec 2005 19:26
Location: South Shore, MA
Contact:

Re: NAC programming

Post by ecps92 »

As other have indicated the lower case 'h' is to indicate that this is in Hexadecimal format
Some other programs [Commercial Radios] have been known to use decimal format

When you see the NAC listed with the prefix of a "$" or a suffix of "h" this indicates hex format [most scanners use]
drop the $ and/or drop the h

Hex NACs are three characters in length using ONLY 0-9 and A-F ie 000 thru FFF
some have special purposes for various vendors, but none have a special function for scanners/scannists.

joekehoe wrote:
09 Nov 2019 11:56
I have a BCD536. When I program a P25 frequency in it as well as the NAC. For example, I program Marshfield PD with a NAC of 270. It shows up on the 536 as NAC 270h which is incorrect. How do I delete the “h”. It shows up as h all NAC frequencies.
Bill Dunn N1KUG
Cruise Ship Frequencies
http://scanmaritime.com

"The tougher it is to find a frequency, the more it makes me want to work to find it. - I've learned to use the SEARCH Button"

joekehoe
Posts: 65
Joined: 31 Aug 2005 09:56
Location: Plymouth

Re: NAC programming

Post by joekehoe »

Thank you for info.

Post Reply